11.10 Quality assurance (QA) – Compare and Vetting Projects

<< Click to Display Table of Contents >>

Navigation:  11. Training Manual >

11.10 Quality assurance (QA) – Compare and Vetting Projects

Training Manual

Below, the following QA methods will be shown:

•Find duplicate weight items

•Checking for extreme values

•Compare function

•Code Envelope Check

Step 1: Find Duplicate Items

Open up the items window to see all items:

clip0179

On the Tools menu choose Find -> Identical Items…

clip0180

This will bring up Find Items window to help you find identical items:

clip0181

The combination of weight group and item number has to be unique in ShipWeight, so you are not allowed to enter any items with the same combination of weight group and item number. So, that is the first way to prevent duplicate items going into the database.

There can be errors that make duplicate items going into different items number and different weight groups, so you can use this tool to detect those.

Firstly, the user checks the boxes next to the Compare Field. For example if we want to find any items in the database that share same Description and Weight:

clip0182

Then click the Query button, the window is going to search through the database:

clip0183

On the right side we can see several instances with items that share the same Description and Weight:

clip0184

And if we click on the first one, then we get the details under:

clip0185

The detail shows that weight group E3.3.1 contains two items (00214 and 00217) with the same Description and Weight.

Step 2: Check for Extreme Values

Another typical mistake is entering in wrong CG or Weight, by for example putting in mm instead of meters, or somehow else getting some extreme value.

The easiesnt way to check is by going into the Items window, make sure you are listing all items:

clip0186

Then go to the Table View, and click on the headers to sort. For example, go to TCG column and click once on the header. It’s going to start with the lowest TCG value

-11.4:

clip0187

If we click again, the largest value will be the first one displayed:

clip0188

So, here is a typical mistake, when someone entered millimeters instead of meters.

So it is very easy to find the extreme values, by clicking on the header.

Now we can just go and correct the value, by putting the decimal:

clip0189

And we can also do the same procedure to check the LCG and VCG.

We can notice the VCG value is also not introduced correct, and we will show you another way to find the extreme values.

clip0190

Another way to discover errors is to compare on the weight group level.

Close the items window.

 

Step 3: Compare Projects at Weight Group Level

clip0191

This brings up the Compare window:

clip0192

Which will show the Weight, VCG, LCG and TCG. It is sorted by hierarchy, and you can add previous revisions or previous projects in the upper right area, and compare values on the weight group level.

To add more projects, right click in the Project area and select Set Project Database…:

clip0193

The Open SQL project window will open. For example, SW00_DB_Space database and TestSpace Space_test project ID:

clip0194

Then click OK.

Now it will show the values for the weights and center of gravity for the current project compared with the weights and center of gravity values for the selected project:

clip0195

By default is sorted by Absolute deviation, and obviously if you list all the hierarchy, then the agregated weight groups to top weight groups will come up on the top of the column.

To avoid this, go to List and select Input:

clip0196

 

We can also sort by Relative deviation, to show which group has the largest relative deviation.

All the information can be copied with Copy Table option and paste it to excel:

clip0197

We can also print the table to make the report, by using the Print option.

You can also shift from the Grid View to the Tree view, which will show you the weight groups in a hierarchy tree.

clip0198

Step 4: Run a Code Definition Envelope Check

If you have defined a custom code, for example for area:

clip0199

And this custom code C05 has sub areas A1, A2 and A3 (these areas have been given box limits):

clip0200

 

Press Close.

Now in the items window, Items have been tagged to various areas:

clip0201

Now we can check the correctness of these in the Code Envelopes window. To open this close the item window and select Code Envelopes in the View menu.

OPen CodeEnvelopesWindow

 

clip0202

This will show the custom code. If we select Show all option, the boundaries of the boxes will be displayed.

clip0203

 

Now check the Box label option and by clicking in A1, A2 or A3 row, various boxes will be highlighed:

clip0204

 

If we highlight A2 and also check the box in front of A2, all items tagged to A2 will be printed in the XZ-plane and XY-plane:

clip0205

We see if all of the items are inside the box. We see one item outside the box:

clip0206

The item number is 39, so we can scrolll down to Pos. 39 and find item 39:

clip0207

And obviously this is an error, so either item 39 has wrong CoG value or it has been tagged to the wrong area code.

You can also print out the report for this using Print command.

Step 5: Check the Report Setup Window

From the Project menu, select Report setup. Select:

Weight Groups            Defined

Parameter sort              Unit

Wgt.grp.                      Sum

Code type                    C01 – Drawing no

clip0208

Click OK to close the window.

Step 6: Run a Standard Report

Select Reports and 4 Weight and CoG wgt.grp. summary on the Project menu. The following window will open – just press OK

clip0209

The report will then be opened in the Print Preview window. In the Print Preview window, press the MS Word button to export the report. Close the Preview window.

clip0210

Step 7: Run a Crystal Report

Start ShipWeight Report Viewer by selecting Crystal Reports… on the Project menu of ShipWeight.

CrystalReportsViewer

 

The first thing to do is to add the report you would like to run. Click the plus button this will open the Add Crystal Report window.
CRAddNewReportPlus

Click Browse to locate the Sample report v12.rpt report.

AddCrystalReportWindow

The open Window will now open

clip0211

When you have located and selected the file Sample report v12.rpt, press open.
Now the file name will show in the Select report field. Give the report a name.

Next, press the ‘OK’ button.

You can now click 'Run Report' in the ShipWeight Report Viewer.

In the “Enter parameter valuew” window that now pops up, select your WBS from the dropdown list and click “OK”.

clip0213

The report should now be displayed after a few seconds.

clip0214

Now, use the toolbar or the group tree to navigate through the report. Also try exporting the report to portable document format (PDF), Word or Excel.

 

Check your understanding

Choose one answer, then select Check answer. These practice questions do not record or submit your results.

1. Detecting possible duplicate items

Two items have different ItemNo values but may represent the same equipment. How can you search for this kind of duplication?

2. Finding extreme coordinate values

You suspect that some TCG (Y) values were entered in millimetres instead of metres. What is a useful first check?

3. Comparing project revisions

You want to compare weight and centre of gravity between the current project and an earlier revision at weight group level. Which tool should you use?

4. Investigating a code envelope mismatch

An item tagged to area A2 appears outside A2's defined box in Code Envelopes. What should you investigate?

5. Comparing relative deviations

You want to identify which weight group has the largest percentage difference between two projects. Which sorting option should you use in the Compare window?